The drive-time blues

This is really bad; I know it and I’ll just admit it from the get-go.  But I get annoyed when the digital traffic signs on the freeway are preempted by the police or whoever is at the controls for those things, so that instead of displaying what drive time I can expect, it flashes a message saying a child has been kidnapped and the make and model of the kid’s napper.

Is this what it’s come to? Have I become so jaded and impatient by Houston traffic that I would rather see information that I will soon find out anyway more than an alert that could mean the difference between life and death for a defenseless youngster?

Still… is equal coverage too much to ask? Flash the kid thing, then flash the drive time. Everybody wins.

One thought on “The drive-time blues

  1. Hey Jared, my name is Diane, we are also in McHam’s feature writing and we were in Crixell’s class last semester. Anyway, it’s horrible that I agree with you and reading your post made me giggle…so don’t feel too bad, you’re not alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

